Wisdom from Lamentations

It is always a treat to find a treasure where none was expected.

Tucked between two of the larger prophetic books in the Old Testament, Jeremiah and Ezekiel, is the book of Lamentations. According to Webster, a lamentation is an expression of sorrow, a cry of grief, an act of bewailing. The book expresses the mourning of the people of Israel because of the destruction of Jerusalem and their captivity in Babylon. The name says it all…or does it?

Tucked in the middle portion of the middle chapter of this book of laments, we find the following treasure:

Lam 3:21-24 But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: (22) The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; (23) they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. (24) “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”

Let us remember that this was written by someone in the midst of captivity, in the land of his enemy. And yet, in the midst of these difficult circumstances, he thinks upon the character of his God: steadfast love, mercy, faithfulness. And he cries, “The Lord is my portion…therefore I will hope in him.”

Is the Lord your portion? If so, hope in him.

  1. #1 by Brenda on February 22, 2012 - 12:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing one of my favorite passages that has often counselled, challenged & caused me to remember God’s sufficient & unending grace.
    I like your blog & am proud of you my brother!

  2. #2 by Brian Nystrom on February 22, 2012 - 2:20 pm

    Thanks Brenda, still finding my way in this blogging thing. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. #3 by Dann Ensell on February 29, 2012 - 4:13 pm

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design .

    • #4 by Brian Nystrom on March 5, 2012 - 9:12 pm

      Dann, thanks for the comment. Hope reading will be a blessing to you.

  4. #5 by Cliff Hennon on March 5, 2012 - 1:43 pm

    Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have truly loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

