The Way Forward (pt. 1)

Based on Deuteronomy 1:20-46

God:  Hey Israel, I have a great gift for you, the hill country of the Amorites.  It is incredibly fruitful land and there are wonderful cities to live in.  I saved you out of Egypt for this.  Go and get it.

Israel:  Thanks God, let’s go check it out…Wow, it is a good land!…But it doesn’t look safe!?  There’s opposition and they’re scary!?…We can’t go and get it!…We won’t!!!

God:  Yes there is opposition but don’t be afraid.  I am with you and I will fight for you.  Remember the power of Egypt and how it was nothing before me?  Remember the difficulties in the wilderness and how they were nothing before me?  I saved you for this.  Don’t worry, I’ve already given it to you.  Go and get it!

Israel:  No!!  We don’t believe you!!

God:  You must go away then.  You are not welcome here anymore.  I am not with you and the land is not yours.  I will give it to those who believe me, to those who follow me.  I will be with them, not with you.  I will give the land to them, not to you.  Go!

Israel:  Wait God, we were wrong…we don’t like the wilderness…Look, we’ve got swords and spears and horses; we’re smart and strong; we’ll take the land ourselves.  Thanks anyway God, we’ll take it from here.

God:  Don’t try it.  I am not with you.  You will be defeated.

Israel:  “Let’s Go!!!  Come on We can do this!!!”…Ouch!!…God they won?!?…what happened?…Why didn’t you defeat them?……God?…………….God?…………………………………………………………..God?

…to be continued…

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

