Sunday’s Sobras

What does it mean to love God?

John 5:31-47

It means listening to and believing in the testimony about Jesus in the Scripture that he is the Christ the Son of God; Jesus’ testimony about himself, John the Baptist’s testimony, God the Father’s testimony in the works of Jesus and in the Old Testament.

It means seeking first the praise that comes from God because we have listened to the Son.

It means the death of self.  Jesus, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself.”  Paul, “I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself.”  The Faithful, “for they loved not their lives even unto death.”

If you say you love God and all of the above are not true at some level you are merely blowing air.

  1. #1 by Terry Crone, PhD. on March 26, 2014 - 9:42 pm

    You didn’t finish it….”pick up your cross daily and follow me”. I am praying how that will be fleshed out in my life.

Leave a Reply

